

OFFICE BEARERS OF THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTH AFRICA: 2015-16

Click to go to:

ManagementFinance and AdministrationAcademic AffairsCommunicationsGeoheritageMeetingsProfessional AffairsTransformationMembershipFellowsResearch andEducation InvestmentContinuing Professional DevelopmentSACNASP EvaluationsSACNASPCouncilGSSA Representatives CGS BoardSAMREC-SAMVAL CommitteesComplaintsEthics

MANAGEMENT		
	Dr Jeannette McGill	President of Council, 2015-17
	Dr Craig Smith	Executive Manager
	Dr Avinash Bisnath	Immediate Past President
	Mrs Lully Govender	Office Manager
	Mrs Sally Nienaber	Publications/Reception
	Mrs Marliese Olivier	Finance



FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION PORTFOLIO		
	Mr Thomas Molelengoane	Vice President
	Dr Jeannette McGill	President
	Dr Craig Smith	Executive Manager
	ACADEMIC AFFAIRS PORTFOLIO	
	Mr Mike Lain	Vice President
	Prof Gillian Drennan	Member



COMMUNICATIONS PORTFOLIO Dr George Henry Vice President Mr Mike Knoper **Technical Editor SAJG Scientific and Chief Editor Prof Steve McCourt** SAJG Mr Darren Tiddy Facebook **Ms Taryn Scharf Facebook Dr Chris Hatton Editor Geobulletin Dr Johan Krynauw** Website, Past President



GEOHERITAGE PORTFOLIO		
	Ms Genevieve Pearson	Vice President
	Mr Gordon Chunnett	Member
	Ms Marcia Van Aswegen	Member, Past President
	Mr Mike Lain	Member
	Dr Reinie Meyer	Member, Past President
	Mr Hannes Henckel	Member



MEETINGS PORTFOLIO		
	Mr Sifiso Siwela	Vice President
	Ms Liz de Klerk	Member
	Mr John Paul Hunt	Member
	Mr Darren Tiddy	
	Ms Mapedi Molepo	Member
	Ms Noleen Pauls	Member
	Prof Richard Viljoen	Member



Dr Sabine Verryn	Member
Ms Tarryn Orford	Member
PROFESSIONAL AFFAIRS PORTFOLI	0
Mr Ed Swindell	Vice President
Dr Jeanette McGill	President
Mr Neale Baartjes	SACNASP Representative
Dr Craig Smith	Ex officio



TRANSFORMATION PORTFOLIO		
	Mr Dumisani Sibiya	Vice President
	Dr Avinash Bisnath	Member, Past President
	MEMBERSHIP PORTFOLIO	
	Mr Sello Nzama	Vice President
	Mr Neale Baartjes	Member
FELLOWS COMMITTEE		
	Mr Gordon Chunnett	Chair
	Mr Ron Hieber	Member



Mr Alan McKenzie	Member, Past President
Dr Paul Nex	Member, Past President
Mr Sipho Mofokeng	Member
Mr Larry Neuhoff	Member
Mr Damian Smith	Member
Dr Johan Krynauw	Member, Past President



REI FUND		
	Dr Reinie Meyer	
	Mr Derek Kyle	
	Mr Frank Gregory	
	Mr Rob Ingram	
	Prof Richard Viljoen	
	Mr Mike Wilson	



CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT STANDING COMMITTEE Dr Johan Krynauw Chair Mr Ed Swindell **Alternate Chair** Member **Mr Sifiso Siwela** Mr Mike Lain Member **Ms Taryn Scharf** Member Ms Lully Govender Ex officio



SACNASP EVALUATIONS COMMITTEE		
actice	Mr Bethuel (Ray) Maloka	Chair
	Mr Alex Mason-Apps	Member
	Mr Ed Swindell	Member
	Dr Reinie Meyer	Member
	Prof Jay Barton	Member
SACNASP COUNCIL MEMBER		
	Mr Neale Baartjes	



COUNCIL FOR GEOSCIENCE BOARD MEMBERS

COUNCIL FOR GEOSCIENCE BOARD MEMBERS		
	Dr Jeannette McGill	Board Member
	Mr Dumisani Sibiya	Alternate
REPRESENTATIVES to SAMREC – SAMVAL COMMITTEES (SSC)		
	Mr Ed Swindell	GSSA Representative on SSC
	Mr Ken Lomberg	Chair, SAMREC
	Ms Kelly Redman	Chair, SAMVAL



DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEES

Complaints Committee

Comprises three fellows excluding current Members of Council, or Fellows sitting on the Ethics Committee; must include one current member of Council; Chair elected by committee but Chair must not be a General Member of Council. Three year term of office. The Chair is selected internally by the committee.

Complaints are investigated by the Complaints Committee in confidence, to determine whether there is a case to advance to the Ethics Committee.

Mr Gordon Chunnett	Chair
Dr Johan Krynauw	Member
Mr Graham Gavine	Member
Mr Billy Mills	Member
Mr Gavin Hall	Member



Mr Larry Neuhoff	Member
Dr Andy Rompel	Alternate
Prof Hartwig Frimmel	Alternate
Dr Reinie Meyer	Alternate

Ethics Committee

Comprises four Fellows excluding current members of Council or Fellows sitting on the Complaints Committee; one must be a current Member of Council. Chair is selected internally by the committee but must not be a member of Council. The term of office is three years; a quorum for any meeting is three members.

The Ethics Committee investigates complaints passed to it by the Complaints committee to confirm there is a case to be answered, and if so what sanctions if any should be applied.

	Mr Richard Wadley	Member
B	Mr Alan McKenzie	Member



Mr Dave Young	Alternate
Dr Jock Harmer	Alternate
Dr Paul Nex	Fellow on Council