

Geological Society of South Africa Staff and Office Bearers 2022-2023

Management Committee (Manco) Council Portfolio Chairs and Members Standing Committees Management Office (Last Update October 3, 2022)

The Geological Society of South Africa is managed and operated by GSSA Council, the Management Committee (Manco), and the Executive Office, according to principles laid out in the Constitution and By-Laws of the Society. The executive manages the day-to-day operation of the Society, as well as having input into process and strategy of the organization. Manco is a subset of Council which has overall operational and strategic authority of Society affairs, and its' members serve as Vice Presidents in charge of the various portfolios, that can change from time to time. Council reviews and ratifies Manco and Executive actions and is the board of control of the Society.

This document lists the various officers of the Society for 2022/23.

GSSA Office Staff

Dr Craig Smith	Executive Manager
Mrs Lully Govender	Office Manager
Mrs Marliese Olivier	Finance/Bookkeeping
Mrs Sally Nienaber	Admin Officer (part-time)



Tel: +27 (0) 11 492 3370 Mandela Mining Precinct Cnr Rustenburg and Carlow Roads, Melville, Johannesburg

www.gssa.org.za



cherish # promote # prosper



Management committee (MANCO)

Name
Dr Tania Marshall President
Mr Sifiso Siwela Immediate Past President
Mr Thomas Molelengoane VP Finance & Administration
Mr Dumisani Sibiya VP Transformation /Membership
Dr George Henry VP Networking/Communications
Mr Joshua Kilani VP Meetings
Ms Noleen Pauls VP Professional Affairs
Prof. Judith Kinnaird Chair: Fellows Committee (ex- officio)
Prof Stephen McCourt VP Academic Affairs
Mr Masibulele Zintwana VP Branches & Divisions
Dr Craig Smith Executive Manager (ex-officio)

General Members of Council

Name
Mr Neale Baartjies
Dr Avinash Bisnath (PP)
Mr Andries Botha
Ms Natalie Brand
Dr Grant Bybee
Dr Matthys Dippenaar



Prof Gillian Drennan
Mr Gavin Hall
Dr Hannes Henckel
Mr Mike Knoper
Ms Senzani Mandava
Mr Alex Mason-Apps
Dr Reinie Meyer (PP)
Ms Tahnee Otto
Mr Wilson Hlangwane
Ms Sara Jane Turnbull
Mr Igor Tonzetic

Student Representatives on Council

Name Priyanka Davechand

Regional and Divisional Members on Council

Name
Prof Frederick Roelofse (OFS)
Prof Steve Prevec (Eastern Cape)
Dr Riaan Botes (KZN)
Mr Michael McCall (Western Cape)
Ms Loni Gallant Northern Cape
Mr Chris Letsoele
Dr Albertus Smith (Mineralogical Society of South Africa (MINSA)



Ms Marcia van Aswegen (PP) (Geoheritage Division)

Dr Fanus Fourie (Groundwater Division)

Ms Lynne Soulsby (ESG Division)

Mr Rorisang Malebye (Young Geoscience Professionals Division)

Observers on Council

Name

Mr Gangatha Dabula (SAIMM)

Mr Tobi Mboze (SACNASP)



Portfolio and Standing Committees

Dr Tania Marshall (President) and Dr Craig Smith (Executive Manager) sit on all committees ex officio; see GSSA website for information on committee and portfolio functions). The VP Finance (Thomas Molelengoane) sits ex-officio on the Fellows Committee.

Fellows Committee

Name
Prof Judith Kinnaird (Chair)
Mr Alan McKenzie (PP)
Dr Paul Nex (PP)
Dr John Hancox
Mr Damien Smith
Prof Jock Harmer
Mr Oliver Barker
Dr Louise Coney
Dr Nevan Pillay

REI Fund

Name
Dr Reinie Meyer (Chair)(PP)
Mr Derek Kyle (PP)
Mr Frank Gregory (PP)
Mr Rob Ingram
Prof Richard Viljoen (PP)
Mr Mike Wilson
Prof Bertus Smith
Prof Steve McCourt
Dr Grant Bybee



Professional Affairs Portfolio

Name
Ms Noleen Pauls (VP)
Ms Sara Turnbull
Ms Natalie Brand

Meetings Portfolio

Name
Mr Joshua Kilani VP
Ms Priyanka Davechand (Social Media liaison)
Ms Camille Kraak
Ms Natalie Brand
Ms Sara Turnbull
Mr Tshego Majane
Ms Tricia Scott
Ms Carrie Zermatten
Mr Eric Kruger
Ms Lutendo Mavhungu
Mr Leo Vonopartis
Ms Loni Gallant (Sponsorship sub-committee
Ms Nicole Wansbury
Ms Temaswati Dlamini
Mr Conrad de Kock
Mr Wilson Hlongwane



Transformation/Membership Portfolio

Name	
Mr Dumisani Sibiya (VP)	

Mr Neale Baartjies

Mr Masibulele Zintwana

Networking Portfolio

Name
Dr George Henry (VP)
Ms Priyanka Davechand (SM manager)
Ms Tahnee Otto (Facebook/Instagram)
Ms Natalie Brand (LinkedIn)
Ms Trishya Own-Smith (Geobulletin)

Finance and Administration Portfolio

Name Mr Thomas Molelengoane (VP)

Academic Affairs Portfolio

Name
Prof Steve Mc Court (VP)
Prof Gillian Drennan
Dr George Henry (Editor SAJG)
Mr Mike Knoper



(Technical Editor SAJG)

Prof Marlina Elburg (Scientific Editor SAJG)

Branches and Divisions Portfolio

Name Mr Masibulele Zintwana (VP)

Continuing Professional Development Standing Committee

Name
Dr Tania Marshall (Chair)
Ms Noleen Pauls (Vice chair)
Mr Sifiso Siwela
Ms Lully Govender (ex officio)

South African Basic Sciences Platform Committee

Name Prof Gillian Drennan

Museum Committee

Name
Prof. Gillian Drennan (Chair)
Prof Bruce Cairncross
Ms Katherine James
Mr Manie Swart
Prof Richard Viljoen



Ms Flo Bird

Ms Diana Wall

SACNASP Evaluations Committee

SACNASP Council Member

Name Mr Neale Baartjies

SACNASP Qualifications Committee

Name
Dr George Henry
Dr Craig Smith

Chartered Status Committee

Name
Dr Tania Marshall (Chair)
Mr Sifiso Siwela



(SSC Vice Chair)

Mr Ken Lomberg (SAMREC Chair)

Mr Rob Ingram (Chair JSE Readers Panel)

Ms Nicole Wansbury (GSSA Representative on the SSC)

Council for Geoscience Board Committee

Name Mr Dumisani Sibiya

SAMCODES Standards Committee (SSC)

Name

Mr Sifiso Siwela (Vice Chair 2022/23)

Ms Nicole Wansbury GSSA Representative (2022/

Mr Ken Lomberg (SAMREC Chair & CRIRSCO Representative)

Dr Peter Dekker (SAMOG Chair)

Dr Tania Marshall Immediate Past Chair (2015/17 and 2020/21)

Mentorship Committee

Name
Ms Noleen Pauls (Chair)
Dr Tania Marshall
Mr Sifiso Siwela



Mr Dumisani Sibiya

Dr Craig Smith

NSTF Representatives

Name

Prof Gillian Drennan (General Representative)

Dr Craig Smith (alternate)

Prof Bertus Smith (ProSET Committee)



Disciplinary committees

The GSSA has two disciplinary committees, the Complaints Committee and the Ethics Committee, which deal with professional complaints against Members according to the GSSA Code of Ethics. These committees need to be re-constituted, due to changes since last ratified in early 2018. Ratification for a further three years is agreed by Council.

Complaints Committee

Comprises three fellows excluding current Members of Council, or Fellows sitting on the Ethics Committee; must include one current member of Council; Chair elected by committee, but Chair must not be a General Member of Council. The term of office is three years. The Chair is selected internally by the committee.

Complaints are investigated by the Complaints Committee in confidence, to determine whether there is a case to advance to the Ethics Committee.

Name
Mr Graham Gavine (Chair)
Dr Matthys Dippenaar
Mr Billy Mills
Dr Andy Rompel (Alternate)
Prof Hartwig Frimmel (Alternate)
Dr Reinie Meyer (Alternative)

Ethics Committee

Comprises four Fellows excluding current members of Council or Fellows sitting on the Complaints Committee; one must be a current Member of Council. Chair is selected internally by the committee but must not be a member of Council. The term of office is three years; a quorum for any meeting is three members.

The Ethics Committee investigates complaints passed to it by the Complaints committee to confirm there is a case to be answered, and if so what sanctions if any should be applied.

Name
Mr Alan McKenzie (Chair)
Dr Albertus Smith
Mr Sipho Mofokeng
Dr Paul Nex
Prof Jock Harmer (Alternate)